Junior Medical Staff (JMS) Awards

Monash Health offers a range of JMS Awards to recognise exceptional junior doctors.

Through the JMS Awards, Monash Health recognises exceptional junior doctors who exemplify the following qualities:

  • Demonstrate a commitment to excellence in clinical practice and patient centred care
  • Promote understanding, manage differences and resolve conflicts in the workplace
  • Encourage and supports the learning of others
  • Demonstrate compassion/concern for colleagues

Individual awards are presented for the following categories:

  • Intern of the Year
  • HMO or Registrar of the Year for each of the following:
    • Medicine stream (includes General Medicine, Specialty Medicine and Sub-acute Medicine)
    • Surgery stream (includes General and Specialty Surgery)
    • Mental Health stream
    • Women’s and Newborn stream
    • Children’s stream
    • Critical Care stream (includes Emergency Medicine, Intensive Care and Anaesthetics)
    • Radiology

Nominations for awards are invited from all clinical staff: senior and junior medical, nursing and allied health staff. Nominations can be made via the following link:

Click here for nomination form

(Opens a form within SurveyMonkey).

All nominations will be treated anonymously. You can nominate as many junior medical staff as you like; however, we ask that you nominate a person only once for the award.

Nominations are open until the end of term 4 


Winners will each receive the following:

  • An engraved medal;
  • An invitation to meet with the Chief Executive;
  • Announcement at the Senior Medical Staff Association Annual Dinner;

The JMS Awards are funded from donations from medical staff associations.

Winners will be announced 

Selection criteria

A Selection Committee comprising senior and junior medical staff, and representatives from the Medical Education Unit will review nominations and collectively determine the winners. The Selection Committee will determine based upon the quality of nominations if a winner will be announced for each award category.


Please forward any queries to: Abi.arulanandarajah@monashhealth.org